Notetaking and WritingPresentingProductivityiPad as...
This is the "History Apps" page of the "GPS iPad Initiative" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

GPS iPad Initiative   Tags: apps, educational technology, ipads  

Modified by Katie Archambault
Last Updated: Oct 6, 2014 URL: http://libguides.gps.edu/gpsipads Print Guide RSS Updates

History Apps Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

RSS Feed for History and iPad in Education

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

History Apps

Cover Art
Biblion
***Apple "Education App of the Year" 2011
***Honorable Mention in the 2011 Knight-Batten Awards
Enter the World of Tomorrow and experience the 1939–40 New York World’s Fair through the collections of The New York Public Library! Biblion: The Boundless Library is designed to take you — all but literally — into the Library's legendary stacks, opening up hidden parts of the collections and the myriad story lines they hold and preserve. In this free app you will hold documents, images, films, audio, and essays directly from the collections right in your hands

Cover Art
Real Clear Politics
Founded in 2000 by John McIntyre and Tom Bevan, Chicago-based RealClearPolitics.com (RCP) has become one of America’s premier independent political web sites. Updated every morning and throughout the day, RCP culls and publishes the best commentary, news, polling data, and links to important resources from all points of the political compass and covering all the important issues of the day. RealClearPolitics has become a trusted filter for anyone interested in politics.

Cover Art
Politico
Download the POLITICO for iPhone app today to get your politics fix. The clean, easy-to-navigate layout is ideal for staying up to date when you’re on the go. POLITICO serves as the one-stop shop for the fastest, most in-depth coverage of the president, Congress and the 2012 presidential race. POLITICO’s journalists break news and drive conversation about the White House, Capitol Hill and Washington lobbying, plus the intersection of politics with Wall Street, media and personalities. POLITICO launched in January 2007 with the mission of covering politics with enterprise, style and impact.

Cover Art
Show of Hands
Show of Hands is an easy-to-use real-time ANONYMOUS polling application for the iPhone, iPod Touch, and iPad.

Poll topics include politics, ethics, pop-culture, sports, parenting, health, humor...whatever seems interesting. Three or four new questions are added daily, and make for great dinner table discussion topics! I do my best to keep poll questions unbiased, and since the application doesn't collect your email or name, you don't have to worry about your opinion being connected back to you or your data getting "out there" somehow.

Cover Art
iAmerica
iAmerica is now the #1 most downloaded app out of all US History apps. It is American History at your fingertips!

Extra effort was made in developing iAmerica to make it the most comprehensive A to Z reference guide to the Presidents of the United States. And as an added bonus we include a handy White House website access guide.

Our presidential biographies include many hundreds of meticulously hand-assembled Wikipedia links. Our links have been carefully researched to provide accurate, context-driven vs. keyword-driven information. You will find it a great improvement over standard Wikipedia links.

Cover Art
Real Time Congress
The legislative process at your fingertips. Live updates from the U.S. House and Senate.

Brought to you by the Sunlight Foundation, Real Time Congress puts the U.S. legislative process at your fingertips. Have key updates, schedules, and key policy documents delivered to your iPhone the moment they are released by Congress and the White House.

Cover Art
Political Time Machine
WATCH ELECTION CANDIDATES SPEAK FROM DIFFERENT YEARS IN THEIR CAREERS

Pick a year + select a presidential candidate... then watch from a collection of over 2,500 political videos!

Investigate each candidate before you vote! Laugh at flip-floppers!

Watch the "HISTORY" category to experience politics dating back to 1892!

Discover awesome videos and share them on Facebook + Twitter!

Cover Art
Political Science: A Brief History
"Political Science: A Brief History" presents a comprehensive look at the evolution of this social science in a compact, interactive format.

This digital compendium serves as a reference to the foundation and development of Political Science from its central theories to its societal impact. Stunning images throughout enhance the text and capture the essence of the study.

You’ll gain valuable insight into Political Science’s:

- Definition
- Philosophy
- Comparative Politics
- Role in Global Issues
- Sociology
- Role in Policy-making
- Relationship to the Masses

Cover Art
Government Spending
Have you ever wondered about how the government spends your tax dollars or have you looked for specific information on government spending. This application provides specific and detailed information for every dollar spent on US federal government contracts.

Cover Art
History: Maps of the World
"History:Maps of World" is a fun and educational collection of high-resolution historical maps.
Check it out to keep up with your history, learn something about history.

Cover Art
World Book: This Day in History
World Book® Encyclopedia and Software MacKiev present This Day in History, an interactive calendar which displays significant historical events that took place on the current day or any selected day. Navigate to any another date or skip forward and back a day at a time. Find out what famous people and events share your birthday.

Cover Art
World Countries - All In One (Free)
7 Educational Geographic apps in one: World Countries Factbook (CIA, WIkipedia, Anthems, Maps, Flags, Capitals) - all 260 countries/territories, Continental maps, Flags, 3 types of Quizzes: capitals, maps, flags and trivia, Flash cards and Rankings.

Cover Art
US Historical Documents
U.S. Historical Documents contains over 200 of the most influential documents in U.S. history and they will be stored directly on your iPad, iPhone/iPod Touch. Quickly and easily find any text from any document with the fastest and most powerful search engine available on the iPhone. Have the documents automatically scroll for you in both portrait and landscape modes while reading. Create notes for each paragraph which can be displayed inline. You can even assign bookmarks to any paragraph in any document for future reference. Highlight important words or phrases using the absolute best highlighting system available.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip