Notetaking and WritingPresentingProductivityiPad as...
This is the "Science Apps" page of the "GPS iPad Initiative" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

GPS iPad Initiative   Tags: apps, educational technology, ipads  

Modified by Katie Archambault
Last Updated: Oct 6, 2014 URL: http://libguides.gps.edu/gpsipads Print Guide RSS Updates

Science Apps Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

iPads and Education from Science Reference Center

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

RSS Feed for iPads in Health

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Science Apps

Cover Art
Science House
A growing library of over 80 hands-on Science lessons that are great for home and the classroom. These short videos demonstrate inexpensive and easy to recreate experiments that are designed to inspire and excite kids of all ages.

VideoScience is hosted by Dan Menelly, a Science Teacher at the UN International School and a 2010 Einstein Fellow with the National Science Foundation in the Office of Cyberinfrastructure.

Cover Art
Science Glossary
A glossary of scientific terms and short biographies that support our science education website, http://www.visionlearning.com. All definitions link to related terms and to free, detailed science learning modules. Though geared for high school and undergraduate students using our website, the glossary and modules are appropriate for anyone generally interested in science.

Cover Art
Formul8
Formul8 is the ultimate formula and need-to-know-info resource with over 200 formulas, now better than ever with fresh UI and search! Formul8 includes the most used formulas for algebra, geometry, calculus, science, and chemistry. Still want to add a formula? Use a photo from your library or camera roll, or type formulas in.

Cover Art
Wolfram Alpha
Remember the Star Trek computer? It's finally happening--with Wolfram|Alpha. Building on 25 years of development led by Stephen Wolfram, Wolfram|Alpha has rapidly become the world's definitive source for instant expert knowledge and computation.

Across thousands of domains--with more continually added--Wolfram|Alpha uses its vast collection of algorithms and data to compute answers and generate reports for you.

Cover Art
The Elements: A Visual Exploration
If you think you've seen the periodic table, think again. The Elements: A Visual Exploration lets you experience the beauty and fascination of the building blocks of our universe in a way you've never seen before.

Stephen Fry, one of the first independent reviewers to experience The Elements, tweets: “Best App of all Theodore Gray Wolfram Periodic Table. Everything is animated and gorgeous. Alone worth iPad.” Xeni Jardin of Boing Boing blogs “Itʼs dazzling—it makes science feel like magic in your hands.”

Cover Art
Frog Dissection
******* Winner of PeTA’s Mark Twain Ethical Science Award *******
******* Winner of IEAR- Best Science App Award -2010 *******
******* Featured in The Sunday Times- List of Top 500 Apps across all devices *******
******* Featured by Apple “ New and Noteworthy ” & “ What’s Hot ” *******

Frog Dissection from Punflay, is a greener alternative for teaching dissection in the classroom. This iPad app is suitable for middle-school students who are learning about organs and organ systems as part of their life science curriculum. Students can try dissecting a virtual specimen with all the trappings that come with the real procedure-minus the mess of course! Besides a virtual chloroformed specimen, the app comes with all the dissection tools and detailed instructions to complete the procedure. Once dissection is complete, the frog’s organs are exposed for further study. Vivid 3D images will help students visualize the internal organs very effectively. For enhanced learning experience, the app also has information on the different types of frogs, frogs’ life cycle, anatomical comparison of frogs with humans, an interactive quiz and detailed descriptions of the organs.

Cover Art
Star Walk - 5 Stars Astronomy Guide
*** A Parents' Choice Gold Award Winner ***
*** Webby Awards 2012 Nominee in Education and Reference category ***
*** Winner of Apple Design Award 2010 for the iPad version***
*** Featured by Apple on Best Apps of 2009, 2010 and in iPad TV commercials***

Do you like stars? Star Walk is a stellar augmented reality app that labels all the stars, constellations, and satellites you point your iPhone at. You can track the ISS, find out what constellation you’ve been looking at from your bedroom window and get a lot of exciting and educative information. Combine that with the amazing Apple Design Award winning graphics and highest quality content, you get the magic so highly praised by our customers.

Cover Art
iSpartan
iSpartan is a versatile app for molecular modeling on the iPad, iPhone, and iPod Touch. The app allows any chemist fast and easy access to computational methods that have proven reliable for a large range of molecules.

Molecules are created by two-dimensional sketching, analogous to drawing a structure on paper. The app converts the two-dimensional sketch into a three-dimensional structure. Low-energy conformations can then be calculated and their geometries be queried. A database of 5,000 molecules (a subset of the Spartan Spectra and Properties Database, SSPD) can furthermore be accessed to obtain NMR and IR spectra, molecular orbitals, electrostatic potential maps, and other atomic and molecular properties. The database can be searched for substructures.

Cover Art
Mobile Molecular DataSheet
The Mobile Molecular DataSheet (MMDS) provides a way to view and edit chemical structure diagrams on an iPhone, iPod or iPad. The unique and innovative sketcher is optimized for the touchscreen interface, and allows professional quality molecular structures to be drawn quickly and efficiently.

Molecules are organized in collections of datasheets. Individual molecules, or whole datasheets, can be shared via iTunes or sent by email, using the standard MDL MOL and SDfile formats, which allows the data to be integrated into any external workflow.

Cover Art
iMolview
Explore the fascinating world of biological macromolecules:
iMolview lets you browse and view in 3D protein and DNA structures from Protein Data Bank, and drug molecules from DrugBank. Search for drug names like 'ibuprofen' or 'gefitinib' in DrugBank, or proteins like 'insulin' or 'thyroid receptor' in PDB. Information associated with each molecule in these databases is also at your fingertips. Sync and view your own structure files via iTunes. Molecular view can be customized with a rich set of molecular representations (wires, balls-and-sticks, space filling, ribbon diagrams, molecular surfaces) and various coloring schemes. Select residues, atoms or chains and color or change their representations individually. Select 'neighbors' of a ligand or any other selection to identify interacting atoms or residues. Set 'inertia' to the maximum and let your molecule spin in 3D indefinitely.

Cover Art
Molprime
MolPrime is a chemical structure drawing tool based on the unique sketcher from the Mobile Molecular DataSheet (MMDS).

Features:

- draw chemical structures

- send structure data via email

- open structures from email or web

- create graphical images of structures

- view structure properties

- use structures to search Mobile Reagents and ChemSpider

Cover Art
Chem Doodle Mobile
ChemDoodle Mobile is the iPhone and iPad companion to the popular chemical publishing desktop application, ChemDoodle. ChemDoodle Mobile is a calculator for drawn organic structures. There are four main windows: Draw, Calculate, Spectra and Help. The Draw window shows a typical ChemDoodle sketcher, where you can draw and store your structures. The Calculate page calculates properties and the Spectra page simulates NMR spectra. All spectra are interactive. The Help page contains a thorough help guide.

Cover Art
3D Molecules Edit&Drill
3D Molecules Edit&Drill is geared for build and edit 3D molecule models.
Using 3D Molecules Edit&Drill you can assemble model of any organic or inorganic compound.
The key feature of the app is “Test yourself” mode. It allows learners to check their knowledge of chemistry and chemical compounds.
When you have finished building your molecule you can either save the model or sent by e-mail. Model can also be opened directly from e-mail.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip