ArticlesBooksEncyclopediasInternet SourcesOpposing ViewpointsWorks Cited ListIn-Text
This is the "Articles" page of the "Science Fair Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Science Fair Research   Tags: databases, evaluating web sites, mla, research, science, science fair  

Do background research for your science fair project using these great resources!
Last Updated: Oct 21, 2014 URL: http://libguides.gps.edu/sciencefair Print Guide RSS Updates

Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Information

Articles from Databases:  In general, when you cite an article from a database, the format is the same as for a print article. Add informaton about the database used and date retrieved to the end of the citation.

Page Numbers: If an article is several continuous pages long, use inclusive page numbers (e.g., 21-23). If the article is several pages long but the pages are not continuous, use the first page number followed by a + sign (e.g., 14+). If no page numbers are available, use n. pag.

Abbreviating Months: When you include the month in the publication date or date of access, abbreviate to the first three letters (e.g., Dec.). May, June, & July do not need abbreviations.

Italicize the name of the Journal/Magazine/Newspaper and the name of the database.

For more than 3 authors: Provide only the first author, followed by et al. For example: Wingert, Peter, et al.

Capitalize the main words in the document title. If there is a colon in the title (a subtitle), capitalize the main words after the colon.

Alphabetize your Works Cited list by the first word of the citation, usually the author's last name. If there is no author, alphabetize by the first main word in the title (ignore A, An, or The).

Double space all of the citations on your Works Cited page.

Indent the second & following lines of the citation 5-7 spaces.  

  


 

Journal Article

Format- Print

Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal Vol.Issue (Year): Page(s). Print.

Example- Print

Hallin, Daniel C. "Sound Bite News." Journal of Communication 42.2 (2000): 5-24. Print.

 

Format- from Database

Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal Vol.Issue (Year): Page(s). Name of Database. Web. Date Retrieved (Day Month Year).

Example- from Database

Bartra, Valentin. "An Institutional Framework for a More Efficient Use of Natural Resources." Minerals & Energy 22.1-2 (2007): 48-61. Academic Search Complete.Web. 25 Jun. 2009.

 

Magazine Article

You do not need to include the volume and issue number for magazines that are published monthly, every two months, weekly, or every two weeks. Give the date published instead.

Format- Print

Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Magazine Day Month Year: Page(s). Print.

Example- Print

Lavelle, Marianne. "Behind the Teen Birth Decline." U.S. News & World Report 11 June

   2008: 22. Print.

 

Format- from Database

 Last Name, First Name. "Article Title." Title of Magazine Day Month Year: Page(s). Name

   of Database. Web. Date Retrieved (Day Month Year).

Example- from Database

Winegart, Peter. "Education: Legislating Legacies." Newsweek 14 Oct. 2005: 10.

   Academic OneFile. Web. 23 June 2009.

 

Newspaper Article

Write the first page number of an article, followed by + if the article continues on a non-consecutive page.

Format- Print

Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Newspaper Day Month Year, Edition (if

   available): Page(s). Print.

Example- Print

Hall, Trish. "IQ Scores Are Up." New York Times 24 Feb. 2008, late ed.: F1+. Print.

 

Format- from Database

Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Newspaper Day Month Year, Edition (if

   available): Page(s). Name of Database. Web. Date Retrieved (Day Month Year).

Example- from Database

Will, George. "A Health 'Reform' to Forget." Washington Post 28 June 2009, final ed.: A17. ProQuest Newspapers. Web. 29 June 2009.

  


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip