ArticlesBooksEncyclopediasInternet SourcesOpposing ViewpointsWorks Cited ListIn-Text
This is the "Encyclopedias" page of the "Science Fair Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Science Fair Research   Tags: databases, evaluating web sites, mla, research, science, science fair  

Do background research for your science fair project using these great resources!
Last Updated: Oct 21, 2014 URL: http://libguides.gps.edu/sciencefair Print Guide RSS Updates

Encyclopedias Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

On this page

General Information

Book Format with Author/Editor

Book Format with No Author/Editor

Online Encyclopedia from a Database

Online Encyclopedia from the Internet

Plagiarism Tutorials

Citation Machine

 

General Information

Encyclopedias:  If multiple editions of an encyclopedia have been published for several years, you do not have to include all of the publication information. Include the edition number, publication year, and format (Print or Web). If there are multiple volumes, include the specific volume number that was used.

Abbreviating Months: When you include the month in the publication date or date of access, abbreviate to the first three letters (e.g., Dec.). May, June, & July do not need abbreviations.

For more than 3 authors: Provide only the first author, followed by et al. For example: Wingert, Peter, et al.

Capitalize the main words in the document title. If there is a colon in the title (a subtitle), capitalize the main words after the colon.

Alphabetize your Works Cited list by the first word of the citation, usually the author's last name. If there is no author, alphabetize by the first main word in the title (ignore A, An, or The).

Double space all of the citations on your Works Cited page.

Indent the second & following lines of the citation 5-7 spaces. 

  


 

Book Format with Author/Editor

Format

Last Name, First Name. "Title of Encyclopedia Entry." Title of Encyclopedia.

   Ed. (Editor) First Name Last Name. # ed. (edition) Vol. #. City, State: Publisher,

   Year. Print.

Example

Swedberg, Richard. "Economic Sociology." Encyclopedia of Sociology. Ed. Edgar Borgatta

   and Rhonda Montgomery. 2nd ed. Vol. 2. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 2000.

   Print.

 

Book Format with No Author/Editor

Format

"Title of Encyclopedia Entry." Title of Encyclopedia. # ed. (Edition, if available) Vol. #

   (Volume, if available). City, State: Publisher, Year. Print.

Example

"Montmartre." Encyclopedia Americana. International Ed. Vol. 19.  Danbury, CT: Grolier,

   2002. Print.

 

Online Encyclopedia from a Database

Format

Last Name, First Name (if available). "Title of Encyclopedia Entry." Title of Encyclopedia.

   Year. Name of Database. Web. Date Retrieved (Day Month Year).

Example

"Kahlo, Frida." The Columbia Encyclopedia. 2008. Credo Reference. Web. 25 June 2009.

 

Online Encyclopedia from the Internet

Format

Last Name, First Name (if available). "Title of Encyclopedia Entry." Title of Encyclopedia.

   Year. Publisher or Sponsor of the web site. Web. Date Retrieved (Day Month Year).

Example

"Pompeii." Encyclopedia Britannica. 2009. Encyclopedia Britannica Online. Web. 12 Feb.

   2008.

  


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip