ArticlesBooksEncyclopediasInternet SourcesOpposing ViewpointsWorks Cited ListIn-Text
This is the "Opposing Viewpoints" page of the "Science Fair Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Science Fair Research   Tags: databases, evaluating web sites, mla, research, science, science fair  

Do background research for your science fair project using these great resources!
Last Updated: Oct 21, 2014 URL: http://libguides.gps.edu/sciencefair Print Guide RSS Updates

Opposing Viewpoints Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

On this page

General Information

Viewpoints Essay from Book

Magazine Article

Journal Article

Newspaper Article

Plagiarism Tutorials

Citation Machine

 

General Information

Articles from Databases:  In general, when you cite an article from a database, the format is the same as for a print article. Add informaton about the database used and date retrieved to the end of the citation. If no page numbers are available, use n. pag.

Abbreviating Months: When you include the month in the publication date or date of access, abbreviate to the first three letters (e.g., Dec.). May, June, & July do not need abbreviations.

For more than 3 authors: Provide only the first author, followed by et al. For example: Wingert, Peter, et al.

Capitalize the main words in the document title. If there is a colon in the title (a subtitle), capitalize the main words after the colon.

Alphabetize your Works Cited list by the first word of the citation, usually the author's last name. If there is no author, alphabetize by the first main word in the title (ignore A, An, or The).

Double space all of the citations on your Works Cited page.

Indent the second & following lines of the citation 5-7 spaces. 

  


 

Viewpoints Essay from Book

Linked under the "Viewpoints" tab on the Opposing Viewpoints results list.  

Format

Last Name, First Name. "Title of Essay." Title of Book. Ed. (Editors) First Name

   Last Name. City, State: Publisher, Year. Name of Database. Web. Date Retrieved.

Example

Hertsgaard, Mark. "Activism Has Been Crucial for the Environmental Movement." At Issue:

   Political Activism. Ed. Tom Lansford. Detroit: Greenhaven Press, 2007. Opposing

   Viewpoints Resource Center. Web. 25 Apr. 2009.

 

Magazine Article

Linked under the "Magazines" tab on the Opposing Viewpoints results list.

Format

Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Magazine Day Month Year: Page(s).

   Name of Database. Web. Date Retrieved.

Example

Begley, Sharon. "Good Cop/Bad Cop Goes Green." Newsweek 4 May 2009: 49. Opposing

   Viewpoints Resource Center. Web. 29 June 2009.

 

Journal Article

Linked under the "Academic Journals" tab on the Opposing Viewpoints results list.

Format

Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal Vol.Issue (Year): Page(s). Name

   of Database. Web. Date Retrieved.

Example

Bean, Michael. "Bipartisan Environmentalism." Issues in Science and Technology 24.3

   (2008): 21+. Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center. Web. 20 June 2009.

 

Newspaper Article

Linked under the "News" tab on the Opposing Viewpoints results list.

Format

Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Newspaper Day Month Year, Edition (if

   available): Page(s). Name of Database. Web. Date Retrieved.

Example

Galbraith, Kate. "Here Comes the Sun. Right?" New York Times 3 May 2009: 1(L).

   Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center. Web. 20 June 2009.

  


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip