This is the "Home" page of the "Women in Modern World History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Women in Modern World History  

Libguide for Ms. Jackson's History course
Last Updated: May 20, 2015 URL: http://libguides.gps.edu/content.php?pid=668713 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Getting Started

Before you get started, take a minute to jot down some topics or keywords that you are interested in researching. 

Start with overviews from websites, your course materials, and the database encyclopedias. Once you have your topic narrowed down, search your keywords in multiple databases using multiple search terms to get the best results.

The themed tabs are divided into time periods. Use these to find more specific databases and books.

Databases

Search databases for full-text articles. 

 

Search Tips

DATABASES

Haven't decided on a topic yet? No problem, there are many databases that allow you to browse subjects to help you get an idea. You can find a link to relevant databases on the themed pages. 

Once you've selected a topic, conduct an advanced search using specific keywords. For example, you might be interested womens' roles in the Mulim Empire, so you can perform an advanced search using the keywords, Muslim history, Ottoman Empire, and women.

You can narrow your search even further by selecting filters within your results - just like Amazon!

GOOGLE ADVANCED SEARCH

Tips:

  • Consider the source, try limiting to .gov, or .edu (government or educational institution).
  • Limit to the language you can read to reduce the number of hits.
  • For recent content choose last update from the advanced search menu.

Find more tips in Google's Search Help Center.

Share a resource you've found!

Did you find a great website while doing research? Share with your classmates by submitting here!

 

Credit

Some content thanks to Huntsville-Madison County Public Library

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip